TMStarnes2013

Novelist and more.

Champions of the Veil Chapter Five

motel_sign_01

 Robert and Sam, on their way to speak with Robert’s deceased grandfather in New Orleans, and after picking up a young hitchhiker (forced, actually, by a host of supernatural guardians blocking the road) have decided to stop for the night and get to know their newest passenger: Raquel Monroe. Robert seems to know a little more about Raquel than he lets on…

Chapter 5

 

Character is what God and the angels know of us; reputation is what men and women think of us.

Horace Mann

 

Raquel stretched, awakening from her nap.

She realized they were no longer moving. She sat up and found they were parked outside of a motel. Sam wasn’t in the car and Robert sat in the driver’s seat quietly humming.

“She’s back to the world of the living,” he turned in his seat.

“Yeah, actually it was a pretty good nap.” She dug a candy bar out of her pack.

“Sam’s inside getting us a room, he just stepped out so this will give us some time to chit chat while he’s in there.”

“Sure what do you want to talk about?” She mumbled, catching crumbs as they fell.

He sighed, “Please don’t be shocked by anything I say, but I’m something of a psychic, so I was wondering how long you’ve had your power?”

She stopped chewing, tilting her head slightly, “What power?”

He waited for a moment then asked, “Are you even aware of it?”

“Okay, you’re freaking me out here, what power?” she swallowed.

“You’re a truth-seer.”

She squirmed in her seat, “What do you mean?” she glanced out the window.

“Truth-seer. You feel it, you sense it, you see it, and you know it when you hear it. You’re a human lie detector.” He studied her reaction.

She squirmed again, “How did you know?”

He grinned his angelic grin, “The same way I know you like Raquel Welch and Marilyn Monroe, Miss ‘Raquel Monroe‘.” He held up his hand, “Before you say anything, I don’t need to know your real name, to the world you’re what you call yourself.”

“Dude, you’re seriously freaking me out. How do you know that?” she reached slowly into her pack.

He shook his head and held up both hands in surrender, “No need to draw your butterfly blade, or your Taser. I don’t mean you any harm and neither does Sam. After all you would know wouldn’t you?” He received that familiar shiver run up his spine ending in the short hairs at the nape of his neck.

She drew her hand back out and empty, “How did you know? How do you know what’s in my bag?” she frowned, “Are you really psychic?”

He shrugged, “Not really, but it’s easy to tell you that until you get used to me. Let’s just say I’m one of the good guys ’cause there’s way too many of the bad. It seems you’re supposed to come along with us to help us with what we have to do in New Orleans.”

She frowned again, “What do you mean it ’seems’ as if I’m supposed to come along with you?”

He sized her up, “Do you believe in angels…like guardian angels?”

She shrugged, “Well, yeah, I guess so. I’m always saying I’ve been lucky in the foster homes I’ve been in. Of course, I believe in God. Not exactly a particular religion, I believe what I believe no matter what a book tells me. So, yeah, if I believe in one, I have to believe in the other. Why?”

“All I ask is you trust your power to know if I’m lying, or exaggerating with what I’m about to tell you, deal?”

She crossed her arms not understanding, “Sure, but you’re going to have to explain more about this power I have since you seem to know about it more than I do.”

“Okay, first let’s talk about your guardian angels. I can see them, they appear like fireflies to me, but they can take any form. You seem to have a bee’s nest, a big one, around you.” Her brow rose and she regarded him skeptically, “I was pretty much ordered by an army of guardians to pick you up on the side of the road back there. Why? I don’t know. So far so good?”

She smirked, “As crazy as it sounds, I feel like you’re telling the truth.”

He grinned, “I really am an escaped mental patient.” She started to ask but he interrupted, “But I was wrongly imprisoned. I was institutionalized because I was found guilty of murdering a family of seven, which I didn’t.”

Her jaw fell open.

He quickly continued, “What really killed them was an escaped devil or demon, devils are like archangels demons. I don’t know which type I came across. It used some sort of portal to get into our world. Now there’s an unseen world, a veil separates us, where things constantly interact with humanity, both the heavenly and demonic kind. It’s a constant state of war. I guess you could say myself, and generations of my family have been, for a better term, Champions of the veil keeping things separate and in balance.”

She digested what he told her as her beehive buzzed around her head and Robert’s spine tingled.

She finally spoke, “Champion? Wait, so if all the stuff in the Bible is real, I mean I believe, but you know I thought it was just parables.” She squirmed in her seat, “I feel you’re telling the truth. So…which book is right? The bible, the Quran, what? “Do you believe there’s only one God?”

“Actually, all religious texts are right . . . and wrong. No one has it right except there being one creator but many servants. All faiths have their own visions and interpretations of angels or protectors as well as demons or attackers. Even in ancient times, I mean ancient times, when people prayed to pagan gods, they actually prayed to the creator of everything. Mankind learned to envision what the creator or aspects of ’the gods’ looked like. God always heard them, He, She, They, It loves his children and puts up with a lot from us but he never stops loving us. What we call angels took the aspects of the ancient gods when appearing to humanity so the creator could communicate with us in ways we would understand. Of course, the morning star and his minions appeared to us in their negative aspects too.”

She waved her hand, “Beep, let’s pause please. Morning star?”

“Lucifer, Satan, the Devil. Once the first of all the Angels, cast down, blah blah blah, well, you’ve read the Bible.”

“Beep, pause off, continue.” she giggled which made him smile.

He shifted in his seat and began flapping his hands around as he spoke, “Champions, like the men in my family, and others are bestowed with powers to combat the darker forces and help the lighter ones. Because of free will, we can’t always help those we want to, sadly enough. We do what we can though. I’m kind of a special Champion, and I’ll explain how once we get in the motel room. There are a lot of things I can do but for some reason many of my memories of my powers are missing. I haven’t figured out why yet, but I’m working on it, because I have a lot of powers. Like soul reading, it’s how I knew your real name isn’t Raquel Monroe. By the way, your secret is safe with me, and you know that to be true.”

“Thanks.” She liked this guy, “How did you read my soul?”

“The blast of dizziness you experienced when we looked at each other for the first time? Then. The eyes are the windows to the soul. If I may say so you have a beautiful soul by the way.” He flashed his teeth.

She blushed, “I think that’s about the nicest thing I’ve ever heard.”

“You’re welcome.” He looked toward the managers’ office, “What is taking him so long?”

“Does Sam know all this?”

“About me? Some of it. I plan to tell him more when we get settled. Of course I wanted to let you know I knew about you before I told him anymore. Those guardians of yours would have kept buzzing and dive bombing your skull if I didn’t tell all the truth.”

She glanced around her head but she couldn’t see the beehive, she nodded toward the office, “What about him? Is he one of these Champions?”

Robert sighed heavily, “Well, I see him as a potential. He has some innate energy, I just don’t know what it is yet. Sam I am is a cynic. He really is a paranormal investigator. He found me, which wasn’t easy to do, while I was institutionalized. I have the ability to hide myself really, really well.” He covered his face with his hands, peeking through his fingers, which made her snort, “Two similar mass murders, just like the one I was accused of, happened while I was inside. That’s why I took him hostage; to get him to help me track and find them, he has contacts, and mine are out of date. The murders are happening and moving south and east, and since my father and grandfather might be able to help me regain my abilities, we’re heading to New Orleans to see if they have any ideas on what I should do.”

She pointed out the front window, “There he comes.”

Sam shook his head as he sat and shut the door.

“What’s up?” Robert asked.

“It took them forever to check us in, they took their own sweet time, and I think the kid behind the counter only had a third grade education!”

“Sam, Sam I am, hostility breeds hostility. Be nice.”

He handed them keys, “There was only one room available. I hope you don’t mind, Raquel, but it’s better than sleeping in the car. We’re in room 189 around the back, it’s got two beds so you; Robert, and I, are going to have to fight over one of the beds.”

She glanced at them both, “Yeah, I think you guys are safe enough to share a room.” She winked at Robert.

Robert slapped Sam on the shoulder, “Why, Sam. How gallant of you. Chivalry is not dead.”

“Yeah, yeah, let’s just get in, shower and go eat. I’m starving.” he tried to shrug off the compliment.

“Thanks, Sam I am.” Raquel said sweetly from the back seat.

“Hey, don’t start that Sam I am stuff. It’s a pain.” but he smiled anyway.

 

To be continued…

 

Leave a Reply

